SVNIT, Surat wins Freescale Cup India - 2011

by K C Krishnadas, TechOnline India - September 21, 2011

Surat College wins the crown this year

The Freescale Cup India – 2011 held Freescale Semiconductor India with the Center for Electronic Design and Technology (CEDT) from the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), entered its second year with participation from 35 colleges and 127 teams.

The event, which drew a much higher response than the 22 colleges and 90 teams which took part last year, is part of Freescale‘s global initiative to promote innovation among engineering students and offer them a hands-on opportunity to put their engineering skills to test by creating microcontroller (MCU) programming that enables model cars to perform optimally under test conditions during the race.

This is a great platform for students to explore their creativity by using some of the latest technology available for feature-rich smart cars,” said Guruswamy Ganesh, vice president and country manager for Freescale Semiconductor India. 

This event showcased the collaborative and competitive spirits of the engineering students as they

defined their concepts and projects, highlighting the progressive innovation ecosystem in India. “This initiative not only provides participants a chance to work on the next-gen technologies but also to broaden their horizons and give them an opportunity to demonstrate their creative abilities," he said.\

In the competition, students were required to assemble an intelligent model racing car that automatically recognized the specially designed race track at the venue. Freescale provided technical support as well as the model car kits and development tools required to build a model racing car based on Freescale MCU technology. The event was the result of several months of challenging work in designing and assembling smart model cars for the race.

Participants were judged by a panel of experts from the automobile industry, embedded systems
domain and academia on parameters, such as speed, design and technology. The team whose car completed the race with the best performance ratings on various parameters was declared the winner.

The prize money for the six winning teams included first prize (Rs.1,00, 000); second prize (Rs. 50,000), third prize (Rs. 25,000) and three consolation prizes (Rs. 10,000 each). 

“We always encourage opportunities like these where companies come forward to mentor our future talent,” said Professor K. Gopakumar, chairman of the CEDT. 



1st Prize – Team, HORS-BORDS from  SVNIT (Sardar Vallabhbhai National Institute of Technology (Surat)

Participants: Amit Tank, Atul Jariwala, Vivek Kholia completed in 25.68 seconds

2nd Prize –Team, MCIS from Manipal University (Manipal)

Participants: Shabeer Ali, Sneha Joseph, Rajendra Babu completed in 30.59 seconds

3rd prize – Team, Vishva from SVNIT

(Sardar Vallabhbhai National Institute of Technology (Surat)

Participants: Vivek Gandhi, Varun Chiddarwan, Vishal Jain completed in 34.49 seconds

Consolation Prizes
The Nebulae from BMS College of Engineering
XLNC from Thapar University
BMS Races from BMS College of Engineering

About Author


blog comments powered by Disqus